Monday, September 1, 2008


Founded in 1981 by the Miami-Dade Board of County Commission, the Sister Cities Program is currently administered by the Jay Malina International Trade Consortium. The program has established sister cities relationships with twenty-three cities in South America, Central America, the Caribbean, Europe, and Asia. Throughout these years, the program has developed innovative projects, which have furthered international cooperation and understanding between Miami-Dade County and the respective sister cities.

The Miami-Dade Sister Cities Program consists of the following cities:

Asti, Italy
Asuncion, Paraguay
Cayman Islands, British West Indies
Commonwealth of the Bahamas
Iquique, Chile
Kingston, Jamaica
Lamentin, Guadaloupe
Maldonado, Uruguay
Mendoza, Argentina
Monagas, Venezuela
Pereira, Colombia
Petit Goave, Haiti
Pucallpa, Peru
San Jose, Costa Rica
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Sao Paulo, Brazil
St. Kitts & Nevis Islands
Stockholm, Sweden
Taipei County, Taiwan
Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain
Turks & Caicos Islands
Veracruz, Mexico

It's very hard for me to single out any one of our sister cities, because they are all equally our favorites. So, to remain impartial, I am using a "neutral" system to pick one out of the hat. The system I adopt is to take this opportunity to highlight to you our "Hurricane Alley." This is where most of the hot, steamy and stormy action takes place during our annual hurricane season from June 1 through November 30th, which is the area of the Atlantic basin in this satellite photograph. The actual birth place of many of our hurricanes is the area near Cape Verde island, off the western coast of Africa.

Our favorite sister city in question is the Turks & Caicos Islands, beautiful, but so vulnerable. Can you see where she is on this Google map? Hint: She's due East of the island of Cuba.

Emerald Sister City

No comments: